Run

by ASHLEY BEAL

Staff Writer

DSC_0624Run they said, it will be fun they said. If someone ever tells you running is fun, please slap them.

Someone broke into my house the other day, and now my best friend is missing again. As any good friend would, I did probably the worst thing I possibly could have done. And yes, I did track down the kidnappers, and yes I was captured. I thought that since I was doing crossfit and a lot of running that I would be fine, but it turns out these people have top grade military gear. Never get into a war with people who have no care for the human life. Unfortunately I made that mistake and now my best friend, Izzy, and I are on the run.

As we stop behind a gas station in downtown Los Angeles to drink some water and catch our breath, we hear footsteps running in our direction, so we duck behind some of the boxes just laying around.

“Where did they go?” asked a scratchy voice.

“Man, I don’t know, maybe they kept running,” answered the tiny baby man.

We saw them shrug and then they kept running, the other way of our hiding spot. We ran towards the forest, and as soon as we stepped into the foliage, there was a snapping noise and up we went into a net. Our captors ran towards us and stopped as soon as they formed a circle raised their guns and shot. That was when I jolted awake.

Graduation

by ANDY ALVAREZ

Staff Writer

I want to go to college. I have always wanted to go down this path and make something of myself. However, this past school year, I have made the decision to graduate early from high school. I had made the decision to do this because of two reasons. When I was little, I lost both of my grandpas, which affected me and made me not talk to my friends and family. Contributing to that, this past school year, I lost my close relationship with my friends.  When my friends started to not talk to me, I began to be filled with anger and sadness. When my friends and I began to drift away from each other, I wanted to avoid them at all costs, which came to the decision of myself graduating early. Later on I began to rethink on graduating early, and then I realized that  graduating early and all the challenges I will face has a whole new different meaning on why I want to do it.

When I was a little kid, about six or seven, I lost both of my grandpas two years in a row. In 2006, my dad’s dad had a heart attack and fell right outside, in front of his house. My mom’s dad had past away of old age, on his bed. I remember being called out from school to go to the hospital for my my dad’s dad. In a very compacted room, I saw my family saddened from what had happened. My family was coming in and out of the room to go see my Huelo for the last time, and there I was in the room unable to say my final goodbyes to him. In 2007, when my mom’s dad passed away, it was on my dad’s birthday. That day, we went over to go see him and he was still alive and well. Then late that night, I wake up in my grandpa’s house, and I remember seeing my entire family crying their tears out. Just like my Huelo, I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye to my grandpa. After these tragic events in my life, my parents saw me shutting down and not talking to anyone.

After my grandpa’s death, throughout elementary and middle school, I never talked to anyone. Recently this past school year, I felt like I my friends and I were disconnecting. I would notice that they weren’t talking to me as much as they would. I didn’t know what was going on. I felt invisible. I finally just gave up on our friendships. I would get so angry that I would take my anger out on my family. I had no one. However, my cousin started helping me get through this. She would offer me advice and hang out with me during lunch. She helped me realize the reason for my friendships ending. She helped me realize the thing that needed to fix was myself. I needed help working on my social skills. She helped me then and continues to help me and I thank her for it everyday.

After what I realized, I am not graduating early just so I can avoid my friends. I’m graduating early because it is something I want to do, something I want to accomplish on my own and say that “Yeah, I did graduate early”. I also want to do this because I feel once i’m out of high school, I can maybe overcome this fear of talking I have. I want to make my family proud and be the youngest and final one to graduate on my dad’s side of the family and be the fourth to graduate on my mom’s side. I’m very excited to accomplish this and try my hardest this year.

Even, though I’ve decided to make this decision, there will be tough obstacles that will try to prevent me from accomplishing my goal. In order for me to graduate early, I must go through the requirements my high school tells me to do. Right now I am taking Office aid, Chemistry, Journalism, American Literature, Spanish 3, and the ERWC class. I’m also taking a COS Math class and Economics and Civics as a Pre-first. Overall, this year will be challenging, some of my family members and my friends are saying not to graduate early because i’ll miss out on my senior year, but in the end, I won’t let anything or anybody get in the way from achieving my goals.

Black Friday

by RUBY CHAVEZ

Staff Writer

unnamedWhat is Black Friday? Black Friday is an event that is held the day after Thanksgiving. It is also known as the first day of traditional Christmas shopping, during which crowds of consumers are drawn to special offers by retailers.

Black Friday lands on Friday, November 27th, 2015. There are sales you cannot miss out on! This also is a kick off  to the holiday shopping season. A majority of the stores come out with ideas to attract early customers. Many customers will stand outdoors for hours until the store is opened up. Almost every store has items that are popular and everyone wants. In the past few years, stores began to start on Thanksgiving evening and some on Wednesday.

Retailers begin to publish their advertisements in the Thanksgiving newspaper, the week of Black Friday, or even late October/early November. Also, some stores would then have an additional Black Friday doorbuster item that is only revealed on their websites.

Some stores will have Black Friday sales online the same time as their in-store sales goes on. Amazon and Deals of America have a Black Friday sale going on as well. There are also many other Black Friday deals on other websites, too.

Black Friday can be dangerous because there are wild and crazy people in this world. People can fight over an item that they want. So stay safe!

Black Friday Tips:

-Park smart! You should always park where other stores are not having a Black Friday sales. Trying to find a parking in the store you are shopping at will take time, and you will miss out on being an early bird.

– Do Not take your children out! taking your children out on Black Friday can lead up to them getting lost in the crowds. They will complain that they are tired and want to go home, or they can be very energetic and will take up your shopping time.

– Trying buying items that would normally be pricey. If you buy expensive items they would cost less. Items to buy would be phones, televisions, computers, and other electronic that would cost a lot.

Stay safe and Happy Black Friday!

 

Ronda V. Holly

by BEATRIZ SANCHEZ

Staff Writer

On Saturday, November 14, 2015, Ronda Rousey v. Holly Holm faced-off in an UFC fight.  Ronda was undefeated until she faced this opponent. For many, this fight was very exciting to watch since it included a knockout. The fight took place in Eithan stadium in Melbourne, Australia. The event was expected to bring in more than 50,000 people and set the UFC record for live attendance.

Holm knocked out Rousey to win the UFC Women’s Bantamweight Champion  and many are saying that the belt is not right for her because she’ll take a couple of months off, and that is bad for her future. She should be  using it for her advantage, to help her do more.  The winner was Holm, and Ronda wants a rematch to prove that it should have been her.

Ronda is 28 and Holly is 34, height s5’4 and 5’8, and they both weigh 135 lbs.  The first round, Ronda came in strong, but at the end, Holm ended it with 10-9 still very close. Second round, Ronda comes in with a few punches and Holly has a different technique than her, but at the end Holly comes in  with a head kick that knocks Ronda out.

More than thousands bought tickets to watch this event and see what the outcome was.

Now Ronda wants a rematch, and it is now official that they are going to have a rematch soon. Ronda is afraid that if she doesn’t get a rematch she will lose the license of her promoters.  

Girls Basketball Starting Strong

by QUINCEE GARCIA

Staff Writer

FullSizeRenderOn Monday, November 30, girls basketball played their first home game against Tulare Western. The girls played strong games against the opposing team with freshman and junior varsity wins, and varsity with a very close loss. The wins and close to win was a great way for our girls to start the season.

Freshman had a score of 26-15, junior varsity had a score of 39-32, and varsity had a score of 56-55.

The varsity girls’ game was one that you would have been sad to miss because the close game all throughout and the one point loss after double over-time made for an exciting game to watch.

The girls basketball teams will be playing again on December 8 against Porterville at home. The freshman girls’ game is at 4:30, the junior varsity girls’ game is at 6:00, and the varsity girls’ game begins at 7:30.