PewDiePie

by SETH BICKHART

Staff Writer

The young 20 year old youtube superstar, Felix Kjellberg, who many know him as PewDiePie, is suddenly having a change of heart and mindset. He recently viewed the material that he released to his millions of fans for the past 6 years. One issue that he addressed was his immaturity at the time, “I thought things were funny just because they were offensive”. A lot of fans are torn about the “new” PewDiePie and are calling back for his old style that he left behind years ago. Another issue that he addressed was his offensive language that he used at the time, for example, “It shows how gay you are” and he clearly said it in a pejorative manner. In retrospective he responded with, “I really don’t like that, I still make kinda stupid jokes that I shouldn’t make. But I feel back then I didn’t understand. I was so immature and I just thought things were funny just because they were offensive”. This has been sort of a wake up call for him; he states that “ I’m not proud of it, I’m really not, but I’m glad that I have grown past it”, this statement clearly represents the mature mentality that he now possesses. The 26 year old has a reported annual income of about 7 million dollars with 40 million subscribers and around 12 billion views. He announced earlier this year that he was going to launch an online entertainment network and a web reality series. Comparing his past work to his present he added: “To me, the improvement is clear. I’ve grown so much as an entertainer, as a comedian, but also as a person. I feel like back then I was very childish and very confused”.

Leave a Reply

