Ballon d’Or 2015


Staff Writer

On January 11, 2016, the 2015 Ballon d’Or award ceremony was held to honor the best soccer players in the world. During these awards, three winners are awarded with a trophy from three different categories; the three categories are FIFA Ballon d’Or, Puskás Award, and World Player of the Year. In the Puskás Award category, five players were nominated for the most beautiful goal of the year. The five players nominated are Wendell Lira, Marcel Ndjeng, Lionel Messi, Esteban Ramirez Segnini, and Chory Castro. After the year long wait, the Brazilian player, Wendell Lira was awarded the trophy. On the next award, World Player of the Year, three women are nominated. The nominees were Carli Lloyd, Aya Miyama, and Celia Sasic. Among the three female players, United States player Carli Lloyd was chosen for the award due to her dominant performance in the 2015 FIFA Women’s World Cup final in Canada against Japan. The final award was the Ballon d’Or; the Ballon d’Or is given to best male player in the world. The nominees were Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Neymar. Out of the three nominees, Lionel Messi’s performance throughout the year helped him achieve his fifth Ballon d’Or trophy. He scored 48 goals for his club and country and was the second-highest scorer in his club, also contributing 21 assists, helping Barcelona win three major titles during the 2014-2015 season — La Liga, the Copa del Rey, and the Champions League.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s