Daytona 500


Staff Writer

February 22 was not just a night for the Hollywood stars, but also a day for the annual Daytona 500 NASCAR race. The race took place on the Daytona International Speedway in Daytona Beach, Florida.  200 laps, 500 miles, 43 racers, one trophy.

This annual event has been held every year since 1959. Richard Petty has the most wins at 7, and the team with the most wins is Petty Enterprise with 9.  The manufacturer with the most wins is Chevrolet, holding the record at 23.

The winner of the 2015 Daytona 500 was Joey Logano. He was driving the #22 Ford.

His average speed was around 161.939 mph, and in total he scored 47 points, beating Kevin Harvick  #4 Chevrolet by 5 points.

This was a special day due to the fact that one of NASCAR’s beloved driver, Jeff Gordon, is retiring this year. Many people refer to Gordon as the face of NASCAR, because of the fame he brought to the sport. Gordon has 3 Daytona 500 wins, along with many other wins in his career. This Daytona 500 was his last race of his 23 year NASCAR career.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s