How To Choose Your Future

by TOMMY VANTICHELT

Staff Writer

At this point in a lot of lives, especially as a senior, a lot of us are unsure as to what we want to do with the rest of our lives. Adulthood is not that far away, and for me, the day I walk out of these gates is the day I’m officially on my own. Even though I think about what to do almost every day of my life, I’m still not 100% sure what the future holds for me. Personally, my brother and sister have been my parent figures in my life. Although we do not live with each other, as they’re both married, I still see them from time to time and they give me advice on life whenever I’m with them. A lot of the time they tell me I can literally do anything. And I can’t stress enough to people how true that actually is. My brother once told me to do things while you’re young, even if it isn’t something you want to do for the rest of your life, because as people we aren’t getting any younger and going out and trying new things only becomes harder as time goes on.

So I encourage people to go places and see new people. The farther you go outside of Visalia, the more you realize that people are completely different. Go out and find a city with culture and interesting people. Go intern at a company that looks fun. Go out and travel and see the world for what it actually is. You will learn so much from going and experiencing things  yourself. Although, it seems like at this point on our lives it is a race for money. Money isn’t everything in life. What do we get for getting a good education? A good job that gets us money! I’m not saying not to do that, but I want people to see that money isn’t everything. What do we ultimately make money to do with it? We spend it. So don’t be afraid to spend it on a new experience, even if you don’t know where it will lead you. I’m not saying to spend it in dumb ways. You should always be smart with your money, but don’t let it own you.

So go out and live an interesting life. Be happy and go places you never thought you’d go. Take a trip across the United States, or maybe even the world. Go do something that makes you happy, and see where it takes you. And that’s what I’m going to do; go out and experience things for what they are, even if it doesn’t mean I’ll be doing that for the rest of my life.

Leave a Reply

