Bathroom Passes

by BRIDGET BUTLER-SULLIVAN

Staff Writer

I will be 18 years old in two months. I will have graduated from high school in seven. If I am to be presented in front of a court of law, I will be tried as a legal adult, with all the given strings that are attached to that. As far as my legal standing is concerned, I am about as close to being an adult as a person can be. So, why is it exactly, that despite my being on the cusp of adulthood,  I, and my fellow classmates,  are  limited to going to the bathroom for a restricted amount of times in most all of our classes?

The reason is, for all intents and purposes, stupid. If I have to go to the bathroom, it is my right to GO TO THE BATHROOM. Sorry to break it to you, folks, but humans need liquids to live. They are a basic necessity that being denied bathroom usage actively makes us refrain from ingesting. We are teenagers.  We do not sleep. We need coffee. We need water. Restricting us to only being allowed bathroom usage approximately three times a semester is ludicrous. I don’t know about you, but I drink water every single day of my life. I may have to use the bathroom from time-to-time.

There are about 80 students at this school that must take a pre-first PE. Perhaps this seems blasphemous, but on occasion, after the class ends, I like to have some water, you know, because I exercised. If I am to do so, it is quite possible that I will need to use the bathroom in the next few hours, and this is going to happen every single time. Sorry. I think that what I’m saying here, although admittedly exaggerated, is fair. Limiting students to bathroom usage is simply unjust. I’m not saying that each person should be allowed to leave the classroom for this purpose three times a class period, but if it is necessary that they use the bathroom, PLEASE, let them do so.

 

Leave a Reply

